I seemed to have made an a*maz*ing discovery

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

EugieBaange

I seemed to have made an a*maz*ing discovery

Post by EugieBaange »

As I'm still rather new to the exciting world of lap steeling (about 3 months) and I've jumped cold into gigging with it, I've been looking for a quick and easy handle -or crutch- to fall back on when you go brain-dead in the middle of a song. I've been primarily using Jerry Byrd's C6/A7 tuning and for songs in a major key I've discovered that you can put your bar down at the relative minor and all the notes in that key are right there in a straight line across the fret. Boy have I milked that! You can do all kinds of things without even moving the bar - just change your picking. Wow. Does that make sense? Anyone else have a nifty trick to share?
John D

Post by John D »

I think that's a C6/Am7 not a C6/A7.
Bobby Lee
Site Admin

Post by Bobby Lee »

This tuning?
<font face="monospace" size="3"><pre> E
C
A
G
E
C#</pre></font>If someone is playing blues/rock in C, you can get a lot of milage out of the blues scale notes at the 3rd fret. I think that's what you mean, right?
Bobby Lee
Site Admin

Post by Bobby Lee »

Here's another position for blues licks in C
<font face="monospace" size="3"><pre>
E _____8--6__________________________
C ____________7______________________
A _______________8___________________
G __________________8________________
E ______________________8--6_________
C#_____________________________6_____
note: C Bb G F Eb C Bb G </pre></font>
mikey

Post by mikey »

John, it actually is C6/A7, as well as C6/A7/Am7!!!...That C# gives you the A7 right across the bottom 4 and the C gives you the basic Am7, It's almost more A7/C6, in my mind anyway...
that is one righteous tuning....wish I thought it up,
Mike
EugieBaange

Post by EugieBaange »

Bobby Lee-