Exploring MIDI, looping etc

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Mike Neer

Exploring MIDI, looping etc

Post by Mike Neer »

This is what I’ve been up to recently and probably the path that I am going to stay on for a while, as I am feeling a rejuvenation and new excitement like I first felt when I started playing the instrument seriously. Many of my favorite musicians went down this road and, admittedly, while it wasn’t always my favorite, after the passage of time, it became some of my favorite music. I’m talking about Michael Brecker, Allan Holdsworth, Pat Metheny and others. So, in that spirit, he is a sample of some of the first stuff I’ve messed around with.

The path to get here has been brewing for along time in my head and after many hours of reading and $$$ spent, here I am. These are improvisations, especially the first clip which had no preconception.
https://youtu.be/sczYJR-jaGg
John Burton

Post by John Burton »

I liked the first few minutes the most. Really reminded me of some of Brian Eno's stuff.
I'm a big Eno fan. Love his ambient stuff.

I used to play a bit with a looper (EHX 1440) midi sync'd with Korg Volca's or sometimes just play along with Korg Volca's.

Definitely gets creative juices flowing.

Keep at at it! Your inspiring me to get back to that stuff.
Bruce Roger

Re: Exploring MIDI, looping etc

Post by Bruce Roger »

Mike Neer wrote:This is what I’ve been up to recently and probably the path that I am going to stay on for a while, as I am feeling a rejuvenation and new excitement like I first felt when I started playing the instrument seriously. Many of my favorite musicians went down this road and, admittedly, while it wasn’t always my favorite, after the passage of time, it became some of my favorite music. I’m talking about Michael Brecker, Allan Holdsworth, Pat Metheny and others. So, in that spirit, he is a sample of some of the first stuff I’ve messed around with.