GFI expo RKL G# to F#

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Daniel McCombe

GFI expo RKL G# to F#

Post by Daniel McCombe »

hey everybody. I have a question regaurding my set up on a used expo I just bought. It seems that my RKL is set up to lower my 6th 2nd and 9th strings. I believe with a 1/2 stop on my 2nd and 6th strings. This is the first guitar I have owned with the 1/2 stop feature so im alittle in the dark. So heres my question. I changed my 6th string and now my knee lever will not drop the G# to an F# the furthest I can get it is to an F, and the nylons wont go any further. How do I get my whole step back? I know it had something to do with me changing the string, but I just can't tell what. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also my RKR raises my 1st and 7th strings to G.
Ransom Beers

Post by Ransom Beers »

I'm no expert but I ran into the same problem awhile back & I moved the pull rod up a hole on the bell crank,you may have to do that too.
Lane Gray

Post by Lane Gray »

Right. You'll either have to go back to the other string gauge or give that pull more leverage.
Your right knee setup as a whole sounds odd to me, but I'm a bit odd myself.
You just don't see the 6th move with two and 9 often.
2 pedal steels, a lapStrat, and an 8-string Dobro (and 3 ukes)
More amps than guitars, and not many effects
Ransom Beers

Post by Ransom Beers »

I had mine set up with a lower on 6 to F# & 9 to C# & raise 2 to E but I don't use the 9 lower & just backed the tuning nut off so as not to engage it.It gets a bluesy sound kinda like a minor,hell I can't play country all that well & darn sure can't play blues on this thing.
Jack Stoner

Post by Jack Stoner »

The factory setup on the GFI's (my wife has a GFI Expo S-10) is to have the RKL Raise the 1st string a whole tone, Raise the 2nd string a half tone and Lower the 6th string a full tone.