bottleneck slide guitar telecaster questions

Bottleneck slide guitars, B-benders, etc.

Moderator: Dave Mudgett

Ben Godard

bottleneck slide guitar telecaster questions

Post by Ben Godard »

I am just starting to learn to play bottleneck slide on my telecaster. I was wondering what string guages most people use. I want to be able to still be able to play with the fingers as well so i dont want my action too high, but I need it high enough to use the slide.

Right now, I am trying .011 guage strings and I raised the action some. should I go with a higher guage string. I'm up for any suggestions
Bruce Terrell

Post by Bruce Terrell »

You'll need to change your bridge setup considerably. A Tele has a curved neck and the bridge is set up to capture that. For bottleneck, you'll need to raise the action and make sure the strings are lined up in a flat plane across. Regular lights (.10) or mediums (.11) are fine but you probably would get better tone the thicker the strings.
Marc Jenkins

Post by Marc Jenkins »

Depends on the tuning, really! I recently played a couple gigs in open E, and found that Derek Trucks' string guages worked well on an SG: 46, 36, 26, 17, 14, 11.
Cliff Kane

Post by Cliff Kane »

I use 11's. I sometimes tune own to a G tuning or a D tuning, but mostly I play slide in standard tuning as there is a major triad and a minor triad.
Robert Jenkins

Post by Robert Jenkins »

11s on a fender are nice and tight. They can be dropped down to D or G without getting too floppy for slide.
Ben Godard

Post by Ben Godard »

I've been fooling around in open D. I find is nice and rich, fairly easy to play, and its a tuning I'm familiar and can play a few tunes with. It also is easy to retun it to standard tuning should I need to. I dont how in the world people play slide in standard tuning. Seems to me it would be too easy to make a mistake.

Anyway, thanks everyone. I've got to get a new nut to raise the strings higher and i may later go to a .012 guage.