Wanted Lap steel instructor

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Paul Fowler

Wanted Lap steel instructor

Post by Paul Fowler »

Just getting started trying to play lap steel and would like to find an instructor In louisville Kentucky,area to help me .will Pay going rate.About me, i play s string acustic and elect.read standard notations my favorites styles are gospel ,Praise and worship,and country .if anyone interested please contact.me.by e-mail or private message.thank you Paul fowler.SR. :D
Recently purchased 6 string lap steel hope to learn how to play it.also Allen Melbert 8 string.
Brad Bechtel

Post by Brad Bechtel »

Welcome, Paul. If you haven't yet, you might try advertising in the Louisville craigslist as well. I would guess that many of us are self-taught. Fortunately with the internet you can find many videos and instruction online.
Several teachers offer lessons via Skype where you can communicate with a teacher far away.
Good luck!
Brad’s Page of Steel
A web site devoted to acoustic & electric lap steel guitars
Paul Fowler

instructor

Post by Paul Fowler »

Thank you Brad for the response about instructors. I will try craigslist.as well. Have a great day. :D
Recently purchased 6 string lap steel hope to learn how to play it.also Allen Melbert 8 string.
John Ely

Non-pedal lessons

Post by John Ely »

Hello Paul,
The great John Ely who played non-pedal guitar for Asleep at the Wheel is a great teacher who does very good lessons over Skype. I was a little skeptical of taking lessons over Skype until I tried it; but it works really well. If you can't find someone to give you in-person lessons is your area, try John. His website is http://www.hawaiiansteel.com/ He's a good guy and an excellent teacher.