Steel TONE. Is it from pickups or wood or?

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Brian Tong

Steel TONE. Is it from pickups or wood or?

Post by Brian Tong »

I'm new to pedal steel and was wondering how the different steels get such unique and consistent tones per builder. I play guitar and understand that wood and pickups have a huge impact but it seems like a steel guitar has so 'few' points in which it is contacting any wood (like on an acoustic) than even an electric guitar.

We all know that pickups can be a huge different to certain electric guitars, and I've changed a few in my time and each could seriously effect the tone of the guitar but you could still 'hear' the wood. Having only owned one pedal steel (a 1976 MSA SD-10), I was just wondering cause it looks like the metal frame is what most of the components are attached to.

Sorry for such a rudimentary question...I'm sure it's obvious to all of you. Like an acoustic guitar, I can tell from the shape, size, wood combinations and luthiers what the guitar would probably sound like...is it the same with pedal steels. The converse of that question is if you took a pickup from an Emmons and put it in a Shobud, would the Shobud sound like an the Emmons?

Thanks in advance.
Jim Cohen

Re: Steel TONE. Is it from pickups or wood or?

Post by Jim Cohen »

Brian Tong wrote:Sorry for such a rudimentary question...I'm sure it's obvious to all of you...
Brian,
No need to apologize, especially since your question is most decidedly not 'such a rudimentary' one. In fact, it has generated more debate here in the Forum than almost any other subject!

Which also means, of course, that you'll get a zillion different opinions on the answer to your question and, in the end, you won't know whom to believe. When that happens you'll be all caught up with the rest of us and won't feel like such a newbie anymore. ;)