Might have to go it alone

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Bill Byrd

Might have to go it alone

Post by Bill Byrd »

If there's anyone in this town who teaches steel they're well hidden. A few years ago I went looking for a lap steel. You'd think the music store operators didn't know there was such a thing let alone who might teach me. So I'm probably gonna have to order my picks and bar and rely on tab to teach myself. I don't even know how to tune my guitar. Can I use a "regular" guitar electronic tuner? What's the best place to get some super simple tab? Thanks for all the help. This is one great forum I stumbled in to. A forum just for steel heads. What a great time we're living in!

------------------
I've been wishing since 1959 for another Sleep Walk. It will happen.
Steinar Gregertsen

Post by Steinar Gregertsen »

Bill, I'd recommend you take a trip over to Brad's Page Of Steel.
you'll find lots of good info regarding tunings and instructional material, plus other goodies, over there.
Brad's page was a great help for me when I was starting out (and it still is),- not many teachers here in Norway either.... Image

Best of luck to you!

Steinar

------------------
www.gregertsen.com

John Pelz

Post by John Pelz »

Yeah -- what Steinar said! Doug Beaumier has kindly posted some free tab here. The nonpedal/lap-steel tab is for 6-string gtr., using C6 tuning (ECAGEC - high to low).
<SMALL>Can I use a "regular" guitar electronic tuner? </SMALL>
I'm pretty new myself, so more informed people, feel free to correct me, if need be -- but if you're talking about one of those basic tuners that only allow "standard" guitar tuning (EADGBE), then I think that you're out of luck. I had one such tuner that I used for my bass when I started with steel guitar, and I had to get a hold of a chromatic tuner, which will allow you to tune to any given note. Luckily, I was able to bum one off my brother... Image