Basic Steel Question...

Written music for steel guitar

Moderator: Ricky Davis

Bradley Beckstead

Basic Steel Question...

Post by Bradley Beckstead »

This is my first post on this forum...what a great resource!

I'm an absolute beginner who is looking to add subtle lap and/or pedal steel parts to some of my recordings (country and rock).

Does anyone know where I can find tablature or transcriptions of familiar songs that feature subtle backing steel parts?

"Heart of Gold" by Neil Young comes to mind as a perfect example - I love the subtle steel work on that by Ben Keith, but as a beginner, I have NO idea what he is playing, which (if any) pedals he is using, etc...!

Does anyone know - or does anyone have a suggestion as to where I could find out?

Thanks!

Bradley
John Steele

Post by John Steele »

Bradley, welcome to the forum. A great resource it certainly is.
There is a plethora of learning material in tab form (and other) out there, and lots of different suppliers. I get mine from Al Brisco at Steel Guitars of Canada.
On the net, this place right here is an excellent place to ask questions and make requests.
Perhaps the neatest thing is a site cooperatively run by two forumites, Rebel and Ricky. It has alot (alot!) of famiiar
pedal steel work from records with sound clips, and a great deal of matching tab.
It's great, and they deserve alot of credit for doing it:
http://users.interlinks.net/rebel/steel/steel.html
Have fun
-John <FONT SIZE=1 COLOR="#8e236b"><p align=CENTER>[This message was edited by Ricky Davis on 18 August 2000 at 01:42 AM.]</p></FONT>
Bradley Beckstead

Post by Bradley Beckstead »

John - Thanks so much for that website address! That's *exactly* the type of thing I was looking for...

Now if I may be so bold, I have what is probably a *really* dumb question... Remember - I'm an absolute beginner! Image

What do "a" and "b" stand for beside the fret numbers?