On cursing and the middle finger (not what it sounds like)

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Darryl Coyne

On cursing and the middle finger (not what it sounds like)

Post by Darryl Coyne »

Hi all, I hope someone can give me a little help with picking. I've been playing for just over three years now and have taken the approach that if I spend most practice time on technique, the music will sound better later. Initially, I spent a lot of time on palm blocking because the traditional sound is what brought me to pedal steel in the first place. After some time of trying to find some position where the band of my middle pick would not pluck the next string up, in frustration, I decided my middle finger was cursed and turned to pick blocking so the attack would be straighter. Pick blocking has been much easier and overall I'm happy with the progress but I still really want to be able to get the percussive sound of palm blocking. The classic licks just don't sound right without the staccato effect. But they also don't sound right when the pick band acts like a second pick on the next string up.
I know that picking is a topic that comes up all the time and very often the solution to my particular problem is to try different types of picks to find one works best. I am currently using NP2's and not opposed to changing but I think that many great players have used them so I won't blame the picks. It has to be my fingers. I'm just wondering if anyone else has solved this problem through technique rather than changing equipment and what you learned along the way. Thanks for any help you can give me!
Will Brown

Picking

Post by Will Brown »