MSA Legend XL

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Barry Yasika

MSA Legend XL

Post by Barry Yasika »

I have a 2020 MSA Legend XL, I've been playing an Emmons LL2 for the last 7 or 8 years. One of the things I'm noticing is that on the first three or four frets, it takes a more pressure and concentration to get a nice clean, clear tone. If I'm not paying attention, it seems I get a bit of a buzz. I checked to make sure the axle for the rollers was clean and that the rollers were clean and clear on the nut but still I can kind of feel feel a difference between it and the Emmons. I've tried a few different bars but so far the only thing that helps is trying to stay aware of the problem and compensate with more pressure and more concentration. I'm hoping I get used to it sooner or later and that with time I'll be able to do it smoother. I was just curious if anyone else may have noticed a similar dilemma. The key head is shorter than the Emmons and the scale has more frets which took some getting used to but I don't think that has anything to do with it. The guitar is the best steel I've ever owned, I love all the newer design features and the way it's built so this isn't really a complaint but more of an inquiry. Any suggestion would be appreciated.
Emmons
Dale McPherson

Post by Dale McPherson »

I have 2 Legends and have never experienced that. Maybe try a different brand of strings.
Dale Rottacker

Post by Dale Rottacker »

Dale McPherson wrote:I have 2 Legends and have never experienced that. Maybe try a different brand of strings.