Best volume pedal for lap steel?

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Glenn Booth

Best volume pedal for lap steel?

Post by Glenn Booth »

Hope this hasn't been rehashed too much. I am looking for a good volume pedal to use w/ my lap steel guitar that won't break the bank. Thank you!
ercek

Post by ercek »

Yo Glenn
I have an old school Mullen pot-pedal. Ask me about it at gig today!
BE
Brian Ercek
D Schubert

Post by D Schubert »

Moyo. Small enough that it might fit in your case, built like a tank.
GFI Expo S-10PE, Sho-Bud 6139, Fender 2x8 Stringmaster, Supro consoles, Dobro. And more.
Mike Neer

Post by Mike Neer »

When I was a guitar player, I used an Ernie Ball. When I started playing steel and was introduced to a Goodrich, it was a whole other level. You can’t go wrong with a Goodrich 120.
Joe Burke

Post by Joe Burke »

The old Fender tone/volume pedals are fun. I believe you can find them at a reasonable price. There are some reissues as well that I think are good.
Greg Forsyth

Post by Greg Forsyth »

Glenn,
I have a Moyo that works well and is built here in Colorado by Glenn Taylor. Reasonably priced
Brian,
Where are you playing today?
I would love to hear some live music today.

Thanks, Greg
Gene Tani

Post by Gene Tani »

I have a bunch, Goodrich, Hiltons, Ernie Ball, etc. The Ernie Ball is adequate, not pedal steel friendly because of jacks on front. I have a feeling best bang for buck is used Goodrich or (new) Stage one VP from Doug Earnest. I haven't played the VP but have had 2 of stage 1 steels, great instruments, great service.
Last edited by Gene Tani on 29 Jul 2023 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- keyless Sonny Jenkins laps stay in tune forever!; Carter PSG
- The secret sauce: polyester sweatpants to buff your picks, cheapo Presonus channel strip for preamp/EQ/compress/limiter, Diet Mountain Dew
Jack Hanson

Post by Jack Hanson »