Barn Find Steel Guitar!

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

TR Kelley

Barn Find Steel Guitar!

Post by TR Kelley »

Hello folks, this is my first post - i have an S10 pedal steel that was abandoned in my barn 20 years ago. So finders keepers, i finally decided to check it out. I'm a professional bassist (fretless!) but other than playing in a few country bands with pedal steel players, i know pretty much nothing. I'm an accomplished noob on lap steel. :)

I am not interested in any purported dollar value of this machine, i actually more interested in fixing it's broken cabinet and playing it if possible. Any info appreciated.

. My main question,How would you figure out if it was an E9 or C6, and if it's one can you change it to the other? I'm more interested in C6 but hey a free steel, i'm not going to complain.

3 pedals, 1 lever. I put sewing machine oil on everything metal thing that moves, and now things DO move. strings are on but floppy, etc. no tone bar.
Chris Brooks

Post by Chris Brooks »

Pretty sure it was made to be an E9. It has the 3 pedals of an E9.

I have never heard of the company. What does the front say? In fact TR, how about a couple of more shots of the instrument: front, sides, top? Close-up of the changer?

Some of the gang here will probably chime in and tell us about the axe.

Playing wise, it's fairly limited: 1 more knee lever would bring it up to minimum. But heck if it gets you playing steel, that's good!

How do the pedals and levers feel? Any lumps in the action as far as you can tell?
john buffington

Barn find

Post by john buffington »

Looks like a "Little Buddy"!
TR Kelley

more pics of mystery steel

Post by TR Kelley »

More pics - no visible branding or ornamentation. seems inexpensively made.
Tuning machine strips are discontinuous and the peg-heads don't match as a set. two different types.