About to order my first PSG. Do you approve of my choice?

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Clay Gillespie

About to order my first PSG. Do you approve of my choice?

Post by Clay Gillespie »

I plan to order a Justice S10 3x4 basic model. I spoke with Ron, who was very kind and helpful. He did suggest the arm rest option.

Background info:
I'm mid 60s and no longer interested in becoming a full time player.
Though I'm not a great musician, I've played guitar, slide, and keyboards for decades and I know classical & jazz music theory.
Based on my background, I've got a couple of questions for you experienced players.
1. Is a 3x4 E9 PSG sufficient to keep me happy playing pop, country, and rock? (I don't play much jazz anymore).
2. Is there another PSG to consider that meets or exceeds the Justice S10 in that price range?
3. The current turn-around time for the Justice S10 is 15 weeks. Is this normal for in-demand builders?
4. Should I consider the height of a volume pedal when measuring the necessary height of the PSG? (Seems obvious)
5. Anything else I should consider?

Thanks so much. I'm excited to get started, but don't want to be hasty and get a model that won't last me too long.
Clay
A stupid number of hours with guitar and keys. 0 hours so far with the pedal steel.
Chris Brooks

Post by Chris Brooks »

Brief reply, Clay--and welcome to the world of PSG.

3 and 4 is fine. And you can add more later if you want. Yes, theory will definitely help you out.

Think of basic "positions" on steel as you do on 6 string: 3rd fret G, 6th fret G, and 10th fret G, for example.

I play an SD 12 and like the armrest.

About the volume pedal question? I'd ask the builders.

15 weeks is very reasonable for your order. Hey: have fun!
Joe Krumel

Post by Joe Krumel »