Amp solutions for city gigging folks who don't have a car

Steel guitar amplifiers, effects, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Rob Morrison

Amp solutions for city gigging folks who don't have a car

Post by Rob Morrison »

Hi all,

I'm still pretty new to pedal steel (just under a year into learning the instrument), but I'm no stranger to gigging, and have been feeling the itch to start playing out on my psg.

However, I live in NYC, which means that I usually transport gear to a show via the subway. Occasionally I'll take a cab/Uber if I know I need to bring multiple instruments plus an amp, but only if I think I'll make enough money at the gig to offset what will likely be at least $60 roundtrip if not more.

Obviously pedal steel is not the most subway-friendly of instruments. But at least I have a Stage One, so a fairly light specimen. Keeping that in mind, I'm trying to find a lightweight (but great-sounding) amp solution. At home I play through a Fender Princeton RI, which honestly doesn't sound so great for pedal steel (despite my best efforts, it distorts unpleasantly far too easily).

What do folks who actually gig in a city environment use? I know ampless solutions are getting more and more popular, but I'm not sure what's considered appropriate for achieving desirable psg tones. Ampless would certainly make a subway commute less back-breaking, but I have tended to dislike going ampless for electric guitar, the few times where that situation has been necessary. Would love to hear of any recs y'all have! Quilter options seem like a promising direction, but I am admittedly pretty green with what's practical for psg. Thanks in advance!
Bill Davis

Post by Bill Davis »