d-12 to U-12 conversion, weight

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Ben Feldman

d-12 to U-12 conversion, weight

Post by Ben Feldman »

Hello forumites. how much weight do you imagine I could save from converting a 1973 MSA d-12 to a U-12?

Also, would the '73 msa be a good candidate for the a u-12 conversion? limited to 4 holes on each changer finger, no splits...

I've been playing pedal steel for about 2 years now. My d-12 stays set up at home, but when I play out of the house I almost always bring a friend's borrowed GFI s10 because it's so much easier to lug around. Consequently, I haven't been motivated to work up many tunes on the c6 neck even though I love the big chord sound. I have other questions about the merits of universal tuning by my interest is primarily motivated by cutting down weight.
Bas Kapitein

Post by Bas Kapitein »

I converted two D-10s in the seventies and I can tell you that the weight gain is
not as much as you would probably like to and still no comparison to the GFI.
The 73’ msa is a heavy guitar and if you remove a changer and couple of rods you are still left with the same body and the same aluminum frame.

Double raise and double lowers never held Maurice Anderson back to promote his universal tuning. There are ways to work around these limitations.
Two years of experience on a D-12 means you barely touched the possibilities and if you sell it or convert it you will be sorry later
Last edited by Bas Kapitein on 28 Dec 2022 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jim Palenscar

Post by Jim Palenscar »

Roughly 16#(roughly 2#/ea for pedals x5, 3# changer, Neck 2#, Keyhead and tuners 1#, 1# rods). Add back 1# for the new pad. I've done a number of them and disagree about value change. SD12's(IMHO) are way more sell-able than D12's.
Bas Kapitein

Post by Bas Kapitein »

I corrected my comment. Who am I to disagree with Jim.
Jim Palenscar

Post by Jim Palenscar »