sho-bud help

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Chuck Bishop

sho-bud help

Post by Chuck Bishop »

Hi Im new to the pedal steel but I developed a love for it at a young age,my Uncle was to me a great player(Chuck Burack)but he passed not long ago and I never got the chance to pick his brain on this,anyways I just found a sho-bud transition,it has 6 pedals and 1 knee lever,how should the necks be tuned and the pedals for each neck be set up,thanks!
Jerry Overstreet

Post by Jerry Overstreet »

Hi Chuck. Welcome! The guitar you describe sounds like the Sho-Bud Baldwin crossover model from years back which had the pedals working on both necks via a switching lever. I had one for a short while and it was a beautiful instrument.

I never played it much as it was a little awkward getting the changes I am used to via the pedals v. the 8 Knees I normally use.

There are guys here that have way more knowledge about these than me, but here are some of my thoughts.

Though somewhat limited by the single knee lever, some modern changes on the E9 can be placed on the pedals if it is indeed a crossover model.

Check the links header above for tunings. I would suggest standard E9/C6 tunings. Probably lower the E's with the KL on the front neck and probably lower string 3 [C] 1/2 step on the back neck. Standard changes from the charts should work OK on the C6 tuning.

Of course you can use any tuning you like...it's just that more instructional material and input from other players might be available with these tunings.

You can learn a lot about the pedal steel with this axe. Good Luck!
Chuck Bishop

Post by Chuck Bishop »

yes crossover is it,ive had trouble finding a set up for it,the instructions I can find list few pedals and more knee levers,Id like to keep the original set up for now thanks for any help offered
Jerry Overstreet

Post by Jerry Overstreet »