Live recording with Ipad

Studio and home recording topics

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

JERRY THURMOND

Live recording with Ipad

Post by JERRY THURMOND »

What Ipad should I get for live recording with pretty good sound on play back, maybe around $ 250.
Jack Stoner

Post by Jack Stoner »

I don't think you can get an "iPad" for $250 (new). More like $400 to $500 range.

You can get Android for $250 or even less. I have no experience with Android's so I can't comment on their recording capabilities.
GFI Ultra Keyless S-10 with pad (Black of course) TB202 amp, Hilton VP, Steelers Choice sidekick seat, SIT Strings (all for sale as package)
Cakewalk by Bandlab and Studio One V4.6 pro DAWs, MOTU Ultralite MK5 recording interface unit
Bill Terry

Post by Bill Terry »

If you don't think you need bleeding edge, I've bought several macs from these guys:
https://www.macofalltrades.com/shop/ipa ... t=priceasc

They've been great. I had one issue with a Mac Pro that didn't deliver with the right amount of memory installed, they over-nighted the correct memory and told me to 'Just keep the wrong memory.. no worry.'

I bought an iPad Air 2 64GB last year for 299.00 and it's actually got fairly decent onboard audio playback quality, considerably better than my Android Tab 4. I can't comment on what recording programs they have but no doubt there are a lot of options. I only bought it to run this program:

http://www.arlomedia.com/apps/setlistma ... /home.html
Jack Stoner

Post by Jack Stoner »

Garage Band is probably the most popular Apple recording program. Its not included with an iPad or iPhone but I think it is with an Apple PC.

I have a new 9.7" iPad. It replaced an old one that was no longer supported (iOS9 was the last OS for the old one).
GFI Ultra Keyless S-10 with pad (Black of course) TB202 amp, Hilton VP, Steelers Choice sidekick seat, SIT Strings (all for sale as package)