Foot Pedal Question - 6th string

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

TravisWright

Post by TravisWright »

I bought a used Desert Rose from the forum. Love the guitar, and have enjoyed playing it.

I just changed strings for the first time and put on Ernie Ball Nickel Wound Strings.

The 6th string - G# is having a lot of issues after the string change. It is a 22 wound

The B Pedal is not pulling the G# all the way up to an A. I don't have any issues with the 3rd string G#.

When I tighten the nylon on the end to get it where it needs to be, it will also bring the actual string sharper as well. So anything I do to tighten the change is offset b/c the actual string is tuning as well.

The G# whole step lower on the Franklin pedal is NOWHERE close now either.

I never had any issues with either of these before changing strings.

I'm still a bit of a newbie with playing, and definitely not the handiest from a mechanical standpoint.

Any recommendations? Would this be easily fixed by changing the string gauge for this string? Outside of that, what can I do?

Thanks!
Tucker Jackson

Post by Tucker Jackson »

You almost certainly need a PLAIN 6th string, based on the description of your problem. It requires less travel than does a wound. The guitar was rodded assuming a plain string...

Or, if you're like me and prefer the tuning stability of the wound 6th, you'll need to move the pull rod to a different slot on the bellcrank. Report back if you want to do that and I'll advise.
TravisWright

Post by TravisWright »

Thank you!

I'm gonna go with the easy route on this and find a NON wound string.

Does gauge matter as much as wound?

I see that D'Addario has a non-wound thats .20 instead of .22.

I'm open to any other suggestions for string manufacturers.

Thanks again!
Dave Meis

Post by Dave Meis »