first of many questions to come

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Roger Losey

first of many questions to come

Post by Roger Losey »

First, I would like to say thank you for all the knowledge I have gained from this forum by reading past and current posts. I have been amazed that the "great players",along with everyone else will take the time to help someone just starting out. I have been playing PSG for about 2 months now. What an amazing instrument! I have played lead 6 string for 30 some years and had become bored with it. I have found that the challenge of the PSG has me very interested again. I practice everyday and am studying music theory and loving every minute of it! I can't listen to, or read enough about the steel. I listen to Steelradio.com and hear a great tune ,and then notice that it is a fellow forum member that I would have never recognized before finding this forum. What a tremendous amount of talent in one place!
I have been working on E9 neck and have learned a few songs and standard licks, but have used C6 neck for armrest so far. My question is, should I be working on C6 also, or just concentrate on E9 first? I love the C6 sound also, and want to learn to play it, but I don't see much similarity in the two necks.
How many of you learned them both at the same time?

------------------
ROGER
'77 MSA CLASSIC D10 8/4, MSA SIDEKICK, PEAVEY SESSION 400, GOODRICH 120
Rick Schmidt

Post by Rick Schmidt »

Hey Roger...I think since youre already a musical guy, you should at least keep your back neck tuned up and ready to go for when the inspiration hits. I started out with a D10 for the most part too, and even though E9 was easier at first I soon started playing both necks on gigs cuz they were there. There's so much good info available about both E9 & C6 nowdays (like "Jeff's Jazz" online). It's a great time to be learning the steel!
Billy Joe Bailey

Post by Billy Joe Bailey »