Intonation Woes - HELP!

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Paul Heinonen

Intonation Woes - HELP!

Post by Paul Heinonen »

Hi fellow steelers! I need someone to help me with intonation, it's my biggest frustration at this point. I've been a pedal steel "owner" for 18 months, and have made satisfactory progress with scales, chords, grips, volume swells, etc. I'm confident enough to improvise solos (I'm a guitarist of 38 years) and I'm starting to feel like a pedal steel "player", not just an "owner".

Intonation is the biggest wild card for me at this point in my progress. It's a crap shoot from day to day wheather I'm "on" or not. Some days I can't miss and everything just seems to "land". Other days, it seems the only solution is to walk away as nothing will "hit". It shakes my confidence at gigs because I never know if it'll be a "hit" or "miss" day until it's too late.

I've searched the forum and found the Franklin exercise, but I could use a few other options. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Paul :)
John Booth

Post by John Booth »

Paul,
It is mostly practice.
Just throw on music you are familiar with and play a lot along with it.
Your aim and your ear will improve with time.
Backtracks, albums, anything you can play along with.
Also watch your left hand carefully. We sometimes have our bar not perfectly straight (slightly slanted) that'll make everything sound like hell.
Good luck
JB
Jb in Ohio
GFI S10 Ultra, Telecaster, a Hound Dog, and an Annoyed Wife
Lane Gray

Post by Lane Gray »

What John said.
Remember there's a parallax factor in bar placement.
There are reference tone generators for nearly all platforms, many of them free. If you're learning a lick in A, set a drone tone at 220Hz (that's open 6th string with B pedal), and use your ears to tune your hands.
2 pedal steels, a lapStrat, and an 8-string Dobro (and 3 ukes)
More amps than guitars, and not many effects