steel guitar amps

Steel guitar amplifiers, effects, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Michael Febbie

steel guitar amps

Post by Michael Febbie »

I'm getting a new stage one steel guitar and I am having a hard time finding what amp. to use. The Nashville 112 and the fender steel Kind are out of production. any ideas. I am a beginner.
Dick Wood

Post by Dick Wood »

If you are just starting out then I wouldn't spend a lot until you feel you are making headway and need something better.

A used decent Nashville 400 can be had for around $300-450 and will serve you well. I used those amps for 20 years and still have one for practice.
Cops aren't paid much so I steel at night.
Ian Rae

Post by Ian Rae »

The important thing is an input stage with plenty of headroom for a clean attack so you can hear what your right hand is doing.
Make sleeping dogs tell the truth!
Homebuilt keyless U12 7x5, Excel keyless U12 8x8, Williams keyless U12 7x8, Telonics rack and 15" cabs
Jeff Triplett

Post by Jeff Triplett »

Michael,

Steel Guitars of Nashville has a couple of Nashville 400's in the price range that Dick has mentioned. Sometimes you see these come up in the Amp For Sell section as well.

Good Luck.
Jeff T
Show Pro Custom D-10, Justice D10 - Weldon Myrick Edition, Emmons D-10 LeGrande II, Emmons D10 P/P, Sho-Bud Pro II Custom, Telonics and Quilter Amps.
Drew Pierce

Post by Drew Pierce »