My new Emmons LL-III

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Rhino

My new Emmons LL-III

Post by Rhino »

Hello forumites…

Its time for me to pipe up and say a few words about my new D-10 Lashley Legande III.

I ordered a new Emmons LL-III in August of 2002 and finally took possession of it the beginning of September 2003. My III came with counterforce on both necks, compensators on all strings that contained a raise – lower, plus 108N humbuckers on both necks. I also chose to have customized ‘Black Sparkle’ Formica for the body.

Since I have been playing an all pull Emmons for the past 20 years I am familuar with their timbre and pedal action. The pedal action on my LL-III is not stiff unless there are more than 2 pulls included. I played my 1980’s Emmons with socks and am able to do the same with the counterforce. I must also mention that the counterforce and compensators do work. I tune to JI and its nice to hear the 3rds and 5ths beat less with and without pedals. Its also great to tune-up without including the cabinet drop biases.

I am enjoying the 108N humbuckers, they can really growl, and their output signal is not so hot. Previously on my older guitar I was not able to plug directly into my effects unit because the units input was so easily overdriven. This was true with the Emmons single coils and BL-710’s

Ron Lashley has succeeded in the restructuring of the Emmons Company. I was kept informed on all the new companies that Ron joined with in order to provide fast and immediate customer service and parts. Since my guitar is one of a few that have been shipped out containing all the new parts from these companies I must say bravo, its perfect and beautiful.

I haven’t taken any pictures yet but if someone would like to post them for me, let me know and I will email some to you.

From the southeast corner of Washington State…
Rob….

Nick Reed

Post by Nick Reed »

Hey there Rob Rhino,