Value of Sho-Bud?

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Ryan Dalton

Value of Sho-Bud?

Post by Ryan Dalton »

Hey all,

I'm very new to the pedal steel world and I was wondering what you would estimate the value of this PSG that I bought at.

I actually learned about the forum from Mr. Michael Yahl and he gave me some information on it (Thanks Michael!). If I remember correctly, he said it was made somewhere around the 2nd week of February, 1978. It is a Sho-Bud Pro III Custom and came from the factory with two necks, 4 levers, and I can't remember how many pedals. This guitar has since been kind of stripped down. It now has 1 neck, 3 levers, and 3 pedals.

I'm kind of thinking about getting rid of it and buying something else at the moment. I love the character this guitar has but I'd honestly love for someone to have it that has a little more knowledge and can take better care of it. At the same time, I kind of want to hang onto it. Problems that pop up and whatnot would be a good learning experience to better know how to work on a pedal steel if problems do occur.

Estimated worth? Advice?

Thanks in advance everyone!

Fred Layman

Sho-Bud

Post by Fred Layman »

Welcome! You already have one of the best steels. Go with it and be happy!
Paul Wade

shobud pro 111

Post by Paul Wade »

just my looking at it it was made into a SD-10
looks pretty good i would say $1800.00 to $2000.00
just my opinon .

p.w
Ryan Dalton

Post by Ryan Dalton »

I appreciate the input! She really is a pretty guitar and I love the character it's got. I need to get a fourth lever on her.

Another few questions if anyone could answer for me...

One of the nylon pieces you use to tune LKL with had busted through and the threads were showing, leaving me unable to tune it. I robbed one off of my RKR since I have yet to use it but I need to order some. Where is the best place to do this?