"Old dog" "New tricks"

About Steel Guitarists and their Music

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Dearl Roughton

"Old dog" "New tricks"

Post by Dearl Roughton »

Hi all. After reading a lot of post on here for two weeks I knew I had to join. I have been playing music for 32 years. Lead guitar for about 25+ years. I play country (50s,60s,70s) I bought a Shobud Maverick 3+2 a couple of months ago which I am finding it is limited but still having a blast with it. Any advice on learning material? I have already gigged with the Maverick twice. :)
Bill L. Wilson

Learning to play

Post by Bill L. Wilson »

Learn all you can on that Maverick, then try to find the best guitar for you, with more knee levers. I started out on MSA semi classics, 3+ 1,played them for years, and kept graduating up till I could afford better. As far as learning materials, I didn't know anything existed for pedal steel, until I got on this forum. Look up Mickey Adams on You Tube, he knows his stuff, and he truly loves to teach. I met him at the Texas Steel Guitar Show, and he even showed me some great chords and how to use them, right there in the show. Look him up, he can help you.
Dearl Roughton

Post by Dearl Roughton »

Bill thanks for the tip. I have done some of Mickey's instruction on YouTube and he surely knows his pedal steel. This brings another question to mind. I would like to get more sustain from the Maverick. I am playing through a Fender Twin Reverb. Any suggestions?
Bud Angelotti

Post by Bud Angelotti »

More sustain from the Maverick. Hmmm -
The maverick is not a bad sounding guitar. It's the mechanics that leave something to be desired.
As you are new to it, try picking the strings harder, maybe with a thinner thumbpick & controlling your volume with the volume pedal. You also have to mute the strings behind the bar with your left hand, especially at the 12th fret and above. These are tchnique issues that just take time & practice.