New to lap steel

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Liam Rogers

New to lap steel

Post by Liam Rogers »

Well, I might at some point in the near future be delving into the world of electric lap steel (8 string).

I have been playing dobro for going on 7 years so I am looking forward to something different.

If it isn't for me, I will still pursue electric steel guitar, but of the six string open chord variety.

Some of you will know me from Resonation or elsewhere, others won't so, I guess this my introduction to you all!

Cheers
Wayne D. Clark

Post by Wayne D. Clark »

Liam, go with the 8 string, in the future it will allow you to expand your ability, and when you need it, it will be there for you. I started on a 6 string, back when Lassie was a pup. But when I got my 8 strig it just oppened up possibilitiey, not enjoyed before.

Melbert 8
Peavey 110
Goodrich pedal
Liam Rogers

Post by Liam Rogers »

Well, there is a possibility I might be inheriting a few lap steels, including a fairly nice 8 string.

I wonder, what variety of C6 would be easiest for a G tuning dobroist to adapt to?
Liam Rogers

Post by Liam Rogers »

Also, any recommendations on instructional material?
Wayne D. Clark

Post by Wayne D. Clark »

I would suggest that you start a new topic rquesting help or suggestions about what tuning to use. like " 8 string Lap Steel C6th or E7th or E9th Tuning" something like that. You will get a response. Mike Neer in New York will help you. Also Steve Ahola from Concord California. Check some of the topics under [STEEL'S WITH OUT PEDAL's] You will find their comments there and a way to make contact with them.

I play an 8 string and use a modified 'E' Tuning. Bottom to Top [ E G# B C# E G# B E ]. Here are some others E7th [ E G# B D E G# B E ] OR C6th [G A C E G A C E ] E9th [ E G# B D F# G# B E ]
Chris Walke

Post by Chris Walke »