Paul Franklin/Joe Wright dvds & cds

About Steel Guitarists and their Music

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Michael Matthews

Paul Franklin/Joe Wright dvds & cds

Post by Michael Matthews »

Hey guys, I just wanted to give a plug here for the new guys , I'm also a beginner and trying to learn as much as I can, got a long way to go, can do some basic stuff and was afraid of the fast picking and thought maybe someday, anyway, I got Joe's secrets of the wright hand dvd about a year ago or so and been doing the exercises off and on and it has helped me a great deal, but what I wanted to say is this, I just got Paul's dvd and cd's at the st. louis show and he brings out some of the mysteries and takes it one step at a time, one string at a time and one position and lever or pedal at a time, but from doing the teachings from Joes dvd I feel that there's a chance I might be able to play some basic speed stuff, this has really boosted my confidence. so if you've been playing and are staying with the slow tunes, take a chance and get these dvds and cds take it one step at a time...my 2 cents mike :D
Zach Keele

Good advice.

Post by Zach Keele »

I think what Mike said is good advice. You've got to try something before you can do it. In addition or instead of the material Mike said, Mr. Doug Jernigan has some great speed building exercises available. I've taken a few lessons from him and boy have I ever increased my speed and dexterity.

Did you get the new Paul Franklin DVD? If you did what was on it, and how good is it?
Paul E. Brennan

Post by Paul E. Brennan »

I can't say enough good things about Joe's teaching methods. He's broken every aspect of the technique down into the component parts. He shows you how to work on each component in isolation and then how to put them all together. It's a logical, extremely well thought out approach.

Paul's stuff is great too.
bob drawbaugh

Post by bob drawbaugh »