lubricating my pedal steel

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Norman Graichen

lubricating my pedal steel

Post by Norman Graichen »

I'm fairly new in the padal steel world and I could use some info on lubricting my steel. I have a GFI Expo SD-10 and I'm having some problems with it holding pitch. When I press the pedals down,a couple of open strings go flat. I was told by GFI that this guitar shouldn't have to be lubricated. Any help would be appreciated.
Jerome Hawkes

Post by Jerome Hawkes »

ahhh, you have just discovered the often debated "cabinet drop" - do a forum search - that will give you a few days of reading and research

its got nothing to do with lubrication. the only "fix" is to temper tune the steel..ie, you just cant tune it straight up to A440, that is causing some of your troubles.
'65 Sho-Bud D-10 Permanent • '54 Fender Dual-8 • Clinesmith T-8 • '38 Ric Bakelite • '92 Emmons D-10 Legrande II
Brint Hannay

Post by Brint Hannay »

It's a little unfair to suggest that GFI in particular has a problem with "not being well made". It's safe to say that almost all pedal steels have "cabinet drop" to some degree.

If it bothers you enough, you can put on compensator rods. But it's also fair to say that a lot of players including top pros play guitars without compensators and manage to make music that doesn't sound out of tune at all.
Billy Carr
Restricted

tuning

Post by Billy Carr »

The GFI's I've had didn't have any tuning problems once I set them up with my set up. Check for bellcranks that are not tight that might be moving just enough to make the guitar go out of tune a little. Matter of fact, I'd check every nut and bolt on the guitar. Sounds like a simple fix. Gene Fields builds a fine guitar. (Also make sure each pull rod is not binding on another one.)
Steven Stewart

strings

Post by Steven Stewart »