Dobro Tunings

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Austin Tripp

Dobro Tunings

Post by Austin Tripp »

Just bought a 1991 Gibson Houndog Dobro. I havent recieved it yet but I have a few questions about dobro tunings. What is the most common tuning used on a dobro? The dobro I purchased has a standard open "G" tuning, is there a different tuning I could use to get more chord voicings? I am new to the dobro so help me out :) Also does anyone have any tips on how to get me started?? Thanks everyone!!!!
"Hotrod"
Steel guitarist for Cody Jinks
Member CMA
Stephen Abruzzo

Post by Stephen Abruzzo »

Well, classic Dobro is tuned ( lo to hi; G-B-D-G-B-D). But as a Dobro is a type of guitar, given the proper strings/gauges, the sky is the limit as to what tuning you can play on it. Depends on what your style of music is that you want to play. I like blues, so I would use:
Open G ( lo to hi; D-G-D-G-B-D) and;
Open E ( lo to hi; E-B-E-G#-B-E)
Austin Tripp

Post by Austin Tripp »

Thanks Mr. Abruzzo! I guess I will just have to 'spearmint when I get my dobro. Another dumb question though, what kind and what brand of strings do I need to use? I use Jagwire strings on my pedal steel but could I use just bronze acoustic guitar strings or do I need dobro strings? Sorry for all the "newbie" questions :oops:
"Hotrod"
Steel guitarist for Cody Jinks
Member CMA
Ben Hoare

Post by Ben Hoare »

Hi Austin dobro strings are better cause they will more likely be the right gauges eg 16-56