How to Practice?

Instruments, mechanical issues, copedents, techniques, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Waldo Israel

How to Practice?

Post by Waldo Israel »

Since I am a new student of the instrument can you give some imput as to what instruction material to use to practice. I have a teacher who is excellent and very patient and I will continue with these lessons. I have been supplementing his lessons with Joe Wright's "Wright and Left Hand " DVD. ThIs DVD seems very instructive and is enjoyable to work on. Looking forward , and for variation, should I continue with Wright's next DVDs or try the Jeff Newman material. If Newman, which titles are good for beginners? Are there any simple songs for a beginner that does not use the pedals and knee levers- need something to play for my wife and friends when they ask me what I have to show for all the time spent practicing.
Brian Kurlychek

Post by Brian Kurlychek »

You are gonna get a wide array of responses. I can tell you what I am currently doing for a practice regiment, but I don't think I am qualified to tell you how to practice.

Here's what I do.

I start off by warming up with Joe Wrights secret of the Wright/Left Hand and follow Joe along for 30 minutes. I find I improve every day by doing this.

Next I practice Scales for about 10 Minutes.

Then I play Steve Benzian's version of Cocunut Grove. You can find his stuff on Youtube under Sbenzian. I try to improve it a little each day and even add parts to it, and experiment with different phrasing of the song.

Then I work on something new. Right now it is Jody Cameron's C6th Voicings dvd.

Then I read the forum for a while, and search for new Youtube videos, or anything new I can learn about pedal steel.

That is what I am doing and I definitely see improvement.