Clearwater six string solid 'Weissenborn' shaped LS.

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Ray Shakeshaft

Clearwater six string solid 'Weissenborn' shaped LS.

Post by Ray Shakeshaft »

Has anyone got any experience of these Clearwater (solid) Weissenborns?. According to the blurb they have a couple of P90 pups, solid maple with figured maple tops.

Edward Meisse

Post by Edward Meisse »

I have no experience. But this looks alot like the Chandlers but with better looks and an additional pickup.
Amor vincit omnia
Ray Shakeshaft

Post by Ray Shakeshaft »

The eBay price in the UK is £250 inc P & P. If it sounds good then it could be a good buy but I do not fancy being the one to find out :D
Brad Bechtel

Post by Brad Bechtel »

I haven't seen these for sale in the USA, so I doubt you'll get much of a response here. They certainly look nice. To me they resemble the Asher Electro Hawaiian Junior, but with different electronics and finish.
Brad’s Page of Steel
A web site devoted to acoustic & electric lap steel guitars
Fontaine Burnett

Post by Fontaine Burnett »

I've been using one of these for about a year now. This is the newer version of the Clearwater lap steel. The only difference between the one i own and the one pictured here is the placement of the control knobs. My Clearwater has the knobs positioned in a row just to the side of the strings. I've seen the newer version offered in blonde and sunburst. The two P-90s are overwound and are nice 'n hot! The form is basically a copy of the Chandler Lap steels and is comparable in construction. The sound is fat and warm. I payed about 250 Eurons :wink: for mine... much less than the offerings from gretsch and fender yet a much better lap steel. Mucho bang for the buck...at least for those living in Europe.

FB
www.fontaine-burnett.de
www.myspace.com/fontaineburnett

"...when it hits, you feel no pain!"
Ray Shakeshaft

Post by Ray Shakeshaft »