In Ear Monitors

Steel guitar amplifiers, effects, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Peewee Charles

In Ear Monitors

Post by Peewee Charles »

Had the opportunity of using in ear monitors with George Canyon on weekend for the first time, no rehearsals, band just flew in from Kandahar after playing for the troops....What a great artist & person...new experience using ear buds...had a Nashville 400 in the backline that was ok...Can I get some input on what some of the pros are using...preamps or amps in the backline? Sure would be nice to plug into something that was the same every gig....I know this is the way of the future & will be a lot better on the ears & sound a lot better....I could just not get use to them....I'm sure I have to give it some time...thanks everyone, it's been awhile....
Darvin Willhoite

Post by Darvin Willhoite »

I'm not a pro, but I've used in-ears for about 5 years now at my regular church gig. I use a Digitech 2112 tube preamp, and a Countryman DI, and no amp. I also have a Proco Rat between the guitar and VP, and a EH Phaser between the VP and preamp. We digitally record the music every Sunday and I'm very happy with the sound I get. We also use Aviom personal mixers for each musician so we can control our own mix on the fly. This system works great for us.

I played an outside gig Sunday night with an amp and it just didn't sound the same. I couldn't hear the guitar player at all from the other end of the stage, and I had to sit in front of the drums with no way to turn them down. I LOVE MY IN-EARS AND AVIOM.
Darvin Willhoite