Who else uses Tom Morrell's tuning?

Lap steels, resonators, multi-neck consoles and acoustic steel guitars

Moderator: Brad Bechtel

Kyle Aaron

Who else uses Tom Morrell's tuning?

Post by Kyle Aaron »

I've been using this tuning ever since I started playing steel last year. While playing with the Playboys, I would always listen to Tom closely, and decided I wanted to learn to play just like him (Or as close as I could get. The guy is untouchable, really). So one day I went over and mesured his guitar and got the tuning from him and built my own.

E D E F# G# B C# E F# G#

While I love this tuning, I find that I never use the lowest string (big fat E string). I've heard Tom use it on occasion. I can think of one recording he does it on one time, and that's about it. For a little while, I even removed the low E because it rang when I played.

So I restrung my steel the other day and when I got to that big E, I thought "Hmm. What if it wasn't an E. What if it was something like another B or a C even. So I tried both. B was alright. Got some funny sounding chords with that. Then I cranked it all the way up to C. I think I'm going to keep it this way. With the C as the low note, you can play the C string and the E and G# on the lower octave for a fat sounding augmented chord. It's great! Playing that low C with the higher E ang G# works well, too. Move it up by fifths and you get a good aug. run. Move it up by whole steps and it works well for whole tone scale runs.

You can also easily grab that quick passing 5#Aug before the 1 chord. Just play your augmented a fret below the 1 and slide right on up. I play it somewhat like this (We'll be in the key of A)

G#---------------------------------------
F#---------------------------------------
E -----------------------------------------
C#---------------------4------5----------
B ----------------4------------5----------
G#----------------------------------------
F#---------4------------------5-----------