Speakers for Silverface Twin Rverb

Steel guitar amplifiers, effects, etc.

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Byron Walcher

Speakers for Silverface Twin Rverb

Post by Byron Walcher »

I have recently aquired a SFTR, traded my '66 Showman for it which means I've got way too much $ in it but the sound is unreal so what the heck. It has Altec 417b speakers in it . Problem is that they break up way too early-about 3 1/2 on the amp. It is definitely the speakers and not the amp. I hooked the head up to my K130 8 ohm cab and get deafening volume with no beakup. Problem is, I love the sound of these Altecs. Is this early breakup normal for them? The guy I got it from will trade me for some good D or K 120 recones, which I like but I like the sound of the Altecs better. If there is something wrong with them it would be the same $ to recone them as the JBLs. Any advice would be much appreciated, I have no experience with the Altecs at all so don't know what the capabilities are supposed to be.
Byron
Lee Jeffriess

Post by Lee Jeffriess »

Byron, stay with the Altecs, there is a couple of reasons you should like them better.
One there not beamy like the JBLs they are way smoother all the ugly stuff has been moved up to the next order, its there but we dont hear it.
Two the 417C and, its 15 inch counterparts the 418B and the 421A share the same vioce coil and, at 1 watt they are one db more effcient than the JBLs.
The biggest advantage is probably the reconing, modern JBL kits are more heavey duty than there vintage originals and, from what I understand are being phased out by lansing.
The Altec has a couple of quality options for recones, there is a good EV kit with a composit dome, but I realy recomend Great plains audio in Oklahoma city there recones are perfect, they repro all the theater Hi Fi and, MI speakers and, all the work is done by ex Altec techs with remanufactured and, deadstock parts.