Musical Morons

About Steel Guitarists and their Music

Moderator: Shoshanah Marohn

Quesney Gibbs

Musical Morons

Post by Quesney Gibbs »

At this time I am stuck doing a small gig on Monday nights in Heflin, Alabama with some of the worst players I have ever been around.

Sharps and flats are unknown; minor chords are not in our ability to play, and being in tune and time are options. What I will do for a small amount of money is disgraceful.

Have you ever been in a situation like that? :roll: [/quote]
Tony Prior

Post by Tony Prior »

so what would compel you to keep this gig ?

t
Roger Rettig

Post by Roger Rettig »

I think he just said why - for that '... small amount of money...'

I can sympathise.

RR
Last edited by Roger Rettig on 21 Jan 2007 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Doug Beaumier

Post by Doug Beaumier »

Have you ever been in a situation like that?
Yes, a couple of times back when I played for a living and I Had to take the gig. It's very frustrating. What drives me nuts is "wrong chords" in classic songs that all players should know. I won't play in that kind of a situation anymore.

Here's what I look for nowadays:

An FUN gig... enjoyment is top priority.

Good People in the band, not just good musicians, but good, honest people, easy to work with.

Good players. Not necessarily the hottest pickers in the area, but players with good ears and good chops, who play the tunes CORRECTLY, and are open to learning new things.

Money is not a big issue anymore. I played full time for 20 years and most of my bands were excellent. But in 'down times' I had to take whatever gig was available. I put up with a few bad situations (either bad music, low pay, or dirtbag musicians and bandleaders) because I Had to for the money. Nowadays I can pick and choose who I play with, and I pick Good People first. Often they are great musicians too.

Quesney, my advice to you is... quit that band. It will kill your spirit. It's not worth it.
Bo Borland